Find Your Motivation

Posted: January 11, 2013 by Justin M. Strawn in Encouragement
Tags: , , ,

I think the one thing almost all who have started exercising, dieting, or just wanted to live a healthier lifestyle can all agree on is that it is really hard to stick with it. This is especially true for those of us who haven’t been doing to our entire lives. I’m proud to say, despite a few valleys and setbacks, that for the past six years I have tried to live a much healthier lifestyle. At one point, I weighed 260 pounds. Today, I’m at 198. That’s not the lowest I have ever been, (I had a little set back around Easter of 2012 that I am still trying to recover from) but I am taking the steps still to keep everything under control. Six years is a pretty long time, and the key to continue doing it is proper motivation.

Why Motivation is important: Obviously, nobody does anything without being motivated to do so. If you are going to get in shape, you have to want to do it. More importantly, you need to have proper motivation. Wanting to look better or making a New Year’s Resolution is okay, but it probably isn’t going to be a strong enough motivation. You need something a little deeper. Motivation is also important because you are going to have to sacrifice something to get healthier. It could be time doing something else, sleep, or some of the foods you love. When you start making sacrifices, you have to really want something to keep making those sacrifices. I started waking up about an hour earlier to get to work. My work day is even earlier now than it used to be. To get the amount of time in that I want to exercise, I have to wake up at 2:40. I leave my house at 5:00 in the morning and usually get home at 5:00 in the afternoon. To do everything else I need to do with kids and all, I normally only get about six hours of sleep.

So what was my motivation? It was the birth of my oldest child, our son Jackson. For some reason, the entire time my wife was pregnant I never felt any real desire or need to get in better shape. As a matter of fact, I did quite the opposite. Call it sympathy weight or whatever you prefer, but I gained anywhere from 20 to 25 pounds while my wife was pregnant. As soon as he was born, something changed. I had always heard that children who have overweight or obese parents are far more likelier to be overweight or obese themselves. It didn’t really hit home until Jackson was born. I knew that I needed to make a change, and I’ve been working at it ever since.

Motivation because of Money: Another reason you need to be motivated is because it is a lot more expensive to eat healthy, live healthy, and stay active. You are going to have to invest in this. Unhealthy, processed food is cheap. Healthy food is a lot more expensive. The one good thing is, if you are going to eat healthy, you will probably be eating less which may help offset some of the higher prices. While it is not completely necessary to invest in the latest, greatest exercise equipment or workout programs to get your body in shape, they do help. They aren’t cheap either. Buying stuff used is always helpful, but you may not always know just how good or bad of shape the used stuff is.

If you look hard enough, you can probably find something to motivate you. It’s not easy. It’s a long process, but the rewards are awesome!

Leave a Reply

