Fitness Update: 1/11/13

Posted: January 12, 2013 by Justin M. Strawn in Fitness Updates
Tags: , , ,

Exercise: Insanity Pure Cardio

Activity Points Earned: 7

Weight Watchers Daily Points Used: 44 of 44

Weekly Points Used: 0 (all have been used already)

Activity Points Used: 5

Activity Points Remaining : 30

Successes: My biggest success yesterday was planning ahead. Our five-year old son wanted to spend the night with my grandparents last night, so I knew Allison and I would have a low-key evening with pizza for dinner. I tend to eat too much when I eat pizza, so I tried to eat less and use fewer points throughout the day before I got to dinner. It worked! Planning ahead is such an important part of the process for me. If I plan ahead when I know I am not going to eat as well as I should for a certain meal, I can still stay within my goals. I have always exercised hard since I started doing it, so I almost always expect to go over my daily points. That’s why the weekly points and Activity points are there.

Failures: Nothing really sticks out. Yes, I had probably more pizza than I needed, but I was purposely eating less throughout the day to compensate for that. Nothing too big to beat myself up over.

Goals for today: I started my morning off with Insanity Plyometric Cardio Circuit. It is the first time I have repeated a video on Insanity. I was hoping it would be easier, and I had mixed results there. It started off easier. I was able to keep up almost step for step with the ten minute warm up. I’m still as flexible as a 2×4, so the stretch still is a struggle. The actual workout is where my results were mixed. I was slightly more familiar with the workout and the moves that he used so I spent a little less time trying to figure out what he was doing. Since I took less time to learn the moves, I was working longer and harder, which meant I started to tire out right about the 30 minute mark, similar to last time. I want to continue to get stronger in that regard.

My other goal is to really practice some self-discipline tonight. My wife and I are supposed to go to my 15 year class reunion, and dinner is going to be served. I have no idea what we are going to have, so it makes it difficult to figure out what I need to do in terms of using my points and calories. I will probably try to incorporate the same strategy as yesterday. Hope you guys have a great fitness day!

Justin

Leave a Reply

