I Love to Eat

Posted: January 18, 2013 by Justin M. Strawn in Confessions
Tags: , , , , ,

I’ll admit it; I love to eat. And I don’t mean snack around occasionally. I love to indulge myself in sweets, red meat, and pretty much anything else that you shouldn’t eat a whole lot . When I was at a much bigger weight, I never denied myself anything I wanted to eat, so it has been difficult to learn how to not cave in to certain cravings. So what changed?

Self Discipline

This has been the biggest change. I have had to really instill in myself the ability to simply not eat so much. How do you do this? A couple of ways. First is to exercise. It is true that exercise makes you hungrier. The key for me though is that I don’t want to waste whatever workout I had that morning by eating something I know will just throw that time in the trash can. If I were just going to do that, I would try to get an extra hour of sleep every morning. The second thing I have done is to eat small amounts throughout the day whenever I feel hungry. This allows me to not get so hungry at the end of the day and eat way more than I should.

Making Changes

There are a lot of things you can do to help make the transition. One of the first things we have done is to eliminate a lot of the temptations from the house. If the food is there, I am going to eat it. I wish it weren’t that way, but I just will. Also, I don’t completely avoid the things that I just love to eat. Doing so can cause people to, for lack of a better word, binge eat. It’s okay to have something sweet every so often. It’s okay to have a steak every now and then. They key is to watch how much of it you are eating when you do. That leads me to my last point.

Portion Control

Portion control is my biggest obstacle. When I have dinner, I always want to go back for seconds. When I go out to eat, I want to eat the biggest thing I can find. The most important thing for someone to do who has problems with portion control is to learn that smaller amounts will fill you up just as well as bigger amounts. The hardest lesson to learn for those of us who struggle with portion control is that eating a lot at one sitting won’t keep hunger from coming later. It might give you a little extra time, but eating a huge lunch isn’t going to keep you from getting hungry at supper time.  Portion control may be the number one problem facing most people who are overweight.

If you love to eat, all is not lost. It doesn’t mean that you can’t lose weight, but it does mean you are going to have to make some changes. I did it. You can too. I hope you have a great day ladies and gentlemen, and may all your fitness dreams come true!

Justin

Leave a Reply

