Fitness Update: 1/21/13

Posted: January 22, 2013 by Justin M. Strawn in Fitness Updates
Tags: , , , ,

Exercise: Insanity Fit Test Upper Body Weight Training

Activity Points Earned: 16

Calories Burned: 982

Total Calories Burned for the week: 731

Weight Watchers Daily Points Used: 43 of 43

Weekly Points Used: 9 (40 left for the week)

Activity Points Used: 0

Activity Points Remaining: 16

Successes: Overall, it was a pretty successful day. I exercised really hard in the morning and did a pretty decent job of eating. I think one of the strategies that I use going forward is to use my weekly and activity so long as I don’t use more than what I gain that morning. I used 9 yesterday, and I gained 16, so I was well within that. I am also going to start keeping a tab of the calories that I burn, just so I can see how the two relate.

Failures: Biggest failure was not eating breakfast before I took my daughter to the doctor for her 6 month check up. I was really hungry by the time I went to pick up her prescription and eating some Pretzel M&M’s that I didn’t need.

Outlook for today: I started my morning off with Insanity Plyometric Cardio Circuit. I also used my old heart rate monitor. I had lost the chest strap so I had been using one that you used your fingertips to measure your heart rate. Both of them keep up with the number of calories you burn, and I knew that the chest strap version is much more accurate. I decided to see just how different the two were. After completing my workout and periodically registering my heart rate on the finger tip version, I had burned 602 calories. That’s a good workout, but on the chest strap one, it showed I had burned 731. That’s a huge difference. The reason it matters is because if I don’t eat enough calories a day, my body may go into starvation mode, which isn’t good. To say the least, I’ll be using the Chest strap version from here on out.

My goal, continue to do what I have been doing. I feel much stronger since starting Insanity and my desire to workout increases everyday. As long as I keep eating right, I should start to see some pretty good results. I hope you have a great day ladies and gentlemen, and may all your fitness dreams come true!

Justin

Leave a Reply

