I Have No Will Power

Posted: February 1, 2013 by Justin M. Strawn in Confessions
Tags: , , , ,

20130201-123354.jpg

Yes, it’s true. I have no will power. Never have. If I see something I like, I will probably eat it. Even worse, I will eat way too much of it. If you haven’t figured this out from my love of Peanut M&M’S. Even worse, this picture about the cake, that’s happened with me before. Having no will power makes it difficult to lose weight, obviously. So how do I overcome it and how can others who have no will power overcome it?

Distractions

As weird as it sounds, distracting yourself from food can be a big help. If you can’t think about food, then you aren’t likely to give into a food craving. I have found that the times that I eat the most are the times when I have nothing to do, or I am just sitting around the house, I will mindlessly eat. Keep yourself preoccupied, it will cut down on that.

Exercise

I know it sounds too cliché to say that exercise really helps your will power, but it does. I hate destroying whatever workout I have had that morning by eating poorly. What’s the point of exercise if you aren’t going to eat the way you are supposed to? You can exercise until you’re blue in the face, (literally) but if you don’t eat right you won’t see any results.

Keep Weaknesses Out of the House

This works better than pretty much everything else. If the food isn’t there, I can’t eat it. We do keep a few things, but it’s nothing that will absolutely wreck a nutritional plan. It is okay to have a little bit of something that may not be the healthiest option, but you have to keep it in small amounts. You also have to keep those times to a minimum. Best thing to do is just eliminate the temptation altogether.

I know how hard it is to not have will power. I know how frustrating and disappointing it can be to give into a temptation. When it happens, chalk it up to a bad day. Don’t let it ruin you or throw you completely off track. We all have bad days, we just can’t let them control us. Keep your head up, you’ll get there.

Have a great day ladies and gentlemen and may all your fitness dreams come true!

Justin

Comments
  1. heartofheather says:

    I chew sugar free bubblegum flavored trident. It’s good for my teeth, feeds my sweet tooth (my weakness). Then I don’t want to eat anything out of fear of wasting my gum and I only drink water cause anything just taste weird with gum.

Leave a Reply

