Four Weeks of Pure Insanity

Posted: February 4, 2013 by Justin M. Strawn in Encouragement
Tags: , , , ,
20130204-111858.jpg

How I feel after pretty much every Insanity Workout

Four weeks are in the books between me and Insanity. I have talked a little about how it has been throughout my fitness updates and weeks in review, but I wanted to break it down a little more in-depth in its own blog post.

Who It’s For

Despite what you may think, you don’t have to be prime physical shape to start doing Insanity. I have seen people who were over weight and weren’t very active successfully complete the program. It’s obviously harder the more out of shape you are when you get started, but it doesn’t mean you can’t do it. If you want to really push your body to the limits, then I suggest giving it a try. Beachbody.com typically gives you a certain time frame to try it before being locked into it, so you can always get your money back if you decide in the first week that it isn’t for you. Or, you can borrow the videos from someone you know if they aren’t currently using them.

Who Should Avoid It

If you have serious knee, leg, or back problems, I would think twice before taking this workout program on.you can modify things to make it work if you have some prior injuries that make some of the moves more difficult, but if it is a persistent injury that can handle little to no stress, you’re probably just wasting your time. There are other things you can do besides Insanity to get in shape.

The First Two Weeks

You get a pretty good glimpse into just how hard this sucker is going to be the very first day when you have a 25 minute fit test. I thought it would be relatively simple. I have never been more wrong in my entire life. I was gasping for air when it was over. The rest of the first two weeks was more of the same. I struggled mightily to keep up. I took a lot more breaks than the people on the video did. It was just beyond hard.

Then, towards the end of the second week, I noticed that it wasn’t as difficult to stay with the people on the video. I was still stopping and resting more than them, but not to the degree that I had been at the beginning.

The Last Two Weeks

The last two weeks have been just as intense as the first two, but I am much more capable of handling the workouts. My form has improved greatly, and I can feel the muscles that are supposed to be worked getting worked. I last longer through each exercise as well. I dreaded my workouts for the majority of the first two weeks. The last two, I woke each morning really anticipating my workout. It definitely gets better.

My Modifications

I don’t deviate from the printed schedule too much. One thing I do differently is the upper body weight training on Thursdays. That is supposed to be the recovery day, but I like to work that in twice a week and this is one of the few days I can find time to do it. I also don’t take Sundays off, and work it in on that day as well. I am also probably going to also do Max Sports Interval three days during the recovery week as well. Other than that, I follow the schedule exactly like it says.

Strengths of the Program

For the most part, it’s a full body workout. It combines cardio and strength training. You are going to really feel like you have accomplished something after each and every single workout. It is challenging, and you feel better after you complete it. Also, very few of the workouts last longer than 40 minutes. There are a few, but you aren’t spending an exorbitant amount of time doing it.

Drawbacks of the Program

The only drawback is the fact that there isn’t any built-in time to do weight lifting if you really enjoy that, and I do. That’s the reason that I have worked it in where I have. There are very few things I could say that are negatives about it.

Overall Thoughts

Yes, it’s difficult. Yes, it’s challenging. There is no reason to believe otherwise, but it doesn’t mean it can’t be done. Cardio is not my strong suit, and it pushes me like no other workout. I still manage to get through it though.

Have a great day ladies and gentlemen and may all your fitness dreams come true!

Justin

Leave a Reply

