Week In Review: February 4 – February 10, 2013

Posted: February 11, 2013 by Justin M. Strawn in Week in Review
Tags: , , , ,
Yeah, I got my butt kicked this morning.

Yeah, I got my butt kicked this morning.

Beginning Weight: 193.6

New Weight: 193.4
Weight gain or loss: -0.2 pounds
Total Weight Loss Since January 1, 2013: -5.8 pounds
What went right, what went wrong
This was definitely a good news, bad news kind of week. The bad news is I had three really bad days in terms of how I ate. I had pizza on Thursday and Sunday and ate about three more pieces each night than I intended. That’s not good, especially with pizza. On Friday, I probably ate 30 Cookies n’ Creme Hershey’s Kisses. That’s not good either. Couple those poor eating totals with the fact that last week was my recovery week on Insanity, which meant I wasn’t working as hard, so it isn’t surprising that I only lost .2 pounds. That’s the bad news. The good news is that I still went down, slight as it may be. The lesson here is that just because you don’t do exactly as well as you may have intended, you can still have some progress. You don’t have to beat yourself up over it. This week wasn’t as great as I would have liked, but I am going to keep moving forward.
If your week was better than mine, great! Keep it up! If not, take the same approach I am and remember that you can do better this week.
This is week number 5 for me doing Insanity, which means I am starting the second phase of Insanity. Today was the first day, and all I can say about it is ARE YOU SERIOUS!! The workouts are about 10-15 minutes longer than the phase 1 workouts, and are about twice as strenuous. Shaun T says during the workout that he is going to kick your butt on the warmup for Max Interval Circuit, and he wasn’t kidding. The awesome part about it is I burned 1,063 calories. I could hardly believe it when I looked on my heart rate monitor.
Goals for the week
1. A lot of the moves in today’s workout were the similar or the same as the previous phase, but he combined a bunch of them into one. It’s going to take a little time to learn some of the new twists that he throws at you.
2. Handle the temptations a little better than I did this week. Same as last week, got to do better.
3. Try to get at or below 190. This one is ambitious to say the least. Getting to or below 190 means losing more than 3.6 pounds which is a lot. It’s been about a year since I was under 190 and I really want to get back there. We’ll see how that goes. Also the same as last week. I think I can get there if I can push through the workouts.
Have a great day ladies and gentlemen, and may all of your fitness dreams come true!
Justin
Leave a Reply

