Men vs. Women

Posted: February 15, 2013 by Justin M. Strawn in Encouragement
Tags: , , , , , ,
Why do men lose weight so much easier than women?

Why do men lose weight so much easier than women?

I think we all know that men have an easier time losing weight than women. But why? What is it about men that gives them such an advantage in losing weight? Men can lose weight much easier than women and there are tons of examples of that. When I decided six years ago to get in shape, I only made a few minor changes and watched the pounds fly off. I eventually had to make additional changes to keep it coming off, but at first, it was relatively easy to lose the weight. I think I have some ideas about why that might be the case. Understand, I am not a nutrition expert, and these are all my assumptions about the differences between men and women. I don’t have any scientific evidence that verifies anything in this post. What I do have is common sense, and I think everything in this particular post makes sense.

The Height Advantage

Men typically are taller. I found different numbers, but the consensus seems to be that the average height of a man is about 5’10” or 5’11” and the average height of a woman is about 5’4″. The taller you are, the more weight you can carry. The more you weigh, the more calories you burn in a day just simply being alive. If men on average are 6 or 7 inches taller than women, then I think it is pretty logical they are going to start off with more weight which means they will burn more calories.

Staying Motivated

If men lose weight easier, then they will see more results on the scale. If they see more results on the scale, then men will probably be more likely to stay motivated. Also, women typically lose in areas that they don’t care as much about at first (i.e. arms, legs, breasts). So when a woman loses weight initially, she may not see the results in the mirror like she might prefer. This can cause her to lose motivation pretty quickly. Men almost always gain in the belly first, and then lose in the belly first; therefore they will see results that they like which will in turn keep them motivated.

It may be easier for men to lose weight, but that doesn't make it a competition.

It may be easier for men to lose weight, but that doesn’t make it a competition.

Society Sucks

The most important reason though may be society’s influence. Society gives women and girls such a horrible standard to meet through pop culture, the media, and the fashion world in general. Men, quite frankly, aren’t held to the same standard. Women are constantly being bombarded with images from all over that they have to be skinny, skinny, skinny if they want to be attractive, and this is such a tragedy.

And I mean tragedy. It’s a strong word, but it’s true. Women and girls feel so pressured to lose weight, and possibly lose at such a rate that they put their health in danger, that they can easily suffer an eating disorder.

The fashion world is so weird in how it does things. A fashion magazine can have one article devoted to healthy weight loss, and then on the next page, have a model who has obviously been starving herself modeling clothes. Where is the consistency in that. There are also numerous stores who have been criticized for airbrushing the pictures of their already skinny models to make them look thinner. If that wasn’t bad enough, most of those stores don’t want women who go over a size 14 to wear their clothes, so they simply don’t make them. One thing I have come across when reading other blogs is that women who are just getting started on the weight loss journey will often say one of the reasons they want to lose weight is to be able to buy clothes in stores they want, not just the ones that will fit.

Another problem is how the media and pop culture portray women and what they expect. I have never heard of a single actress who didn’t say the director told them to lose ten pounds when they began filming a movie. Whenever there is a reality show that comes on that focuses on a woman or group of women, weight is almost always one of the first things discussed in the media. It’s ridiculous how obsessed the media can be with trying to see just how skinny women can be.

Another serious issue is just men in general. Men have bought into this skinny-at-all-costs look for women. It’s been a number of years since I read this, but I read that in the 1950s, men found 50% of the female population attractive. Today, men find 10% of the female population attractive. That is just plain sad. I know lots of people who have said their husbands or boyfriends hassle them about their weight on a regular basis. If that guy is willing to leave you over your weight, then he is the one with the problem, not you.

Women have to be given support about their body image because so many have such a poor perception of it. This hits me personally on two levels because I have both a wife and a daughter. I love my wife for the wonderful person that she is, and will always be. I think she is the most beautiful of all of God’s creation, and no amount of weight gain or weight loss of hers will ever change that. My daughter is only seven months old, but I don’t want her to have some of these struggles. I want my daughter to realize that she is worth more than the number on the scale. I want her to be able to look into a mirror and like what she sees no matter what society might tell her.

With society hounding women like it does, I think it is pretty easy to see why so many women get discouraged on their weight loss journey. It would be so easy to become distressed about the scale. Society should encourage women to be healthy, not skinny. If you don’t think there is a difference, trust me when I tell you there is.

When you add up these three factors, height, motivation, and society, I think it is easy to see why women have a harder time. They are put behind the eight ball so to speak when it comes to losing weight compared to their male counterparts.

I hope you have a great day ladies and gentlemen and may all of your fitness dreams come true!

Justin

Leave a Reply

