Week in Review March 18 – March 24, 2013

Posted: February 26, 2013 by Justin M. Strawn in Week in Review
Tags: , , , ,

SnoopyBeginning Weight: 194.2

New Weight: 195.2

Weight gain or loss: +1.0 pounds

Total Weight Loss Since January 1, 2013: -4.0 pounds

What went right, what went wrong

The week went pretty well for me. Monday through Friday, I stayed within what I had planned. The weekend was my undoing. I munched a lot and really didn’t track what I ate very well. I am pretty certain that is where the extra pound came from.

The one thing I am considering with the small gain this week is that I have gone from strict Insanity workouts to a hybrid workout of Insanity and P90X. That means I have gone back to weight lifting. When I was doing P90X by itself, I had some pretty wild fluctuations with my weight. If the added weight lifting adds a significant amount of muscle, my weight may not go down much, or it may actually go up. That doesn’t mean I need to stop doing it. It means I need to pay close attention to my body and see how it changes.

Speaking of the hybrid workout program, this was the first week that I got a complete week in. If you are wondering what exactly I am doing, this is what I am striving towards.

  • First Four Weeks
  1. Monday – P90X Chest and Back
  2. Tuesday – Insanity Max Interval Circuit
  3. Wednesday – P90X Arms and Shoulders
  4. Thursday – Max Plyo Circuit
  5. Friday – P90X Legs and Back
  6. Saturday – Insanity Max Cardio Conditioning and Insane Abs
  7. Sunday – Insanity Max Interval Sports Training (This is one I just try to get in, if I don’t I won’t try to make it up)
  • Second Four Weeks
  1. Monday – P90X Chest, Shoulders, and Triceps
  2. Tuesday – Insanity Max Interval Circuit
  3. Wednesday – P90X Back and Biceps
  4. Thursday – Max Plyo Circuit
  5. Friday – P90X Legs and Back
  6. Saturday – Insanity Max Cardio Conditioning and Insane Abs
  7. Sunday – Insanity Max Interval Sports Training (This is one I just try to get in, if I don’t I won’t try to make it up)
  • Third Four Weeks
  1. Repeat the first four weeks, this time only doing it for only two weeks this time around.
  2. Repeat the second four weeks, this time only doing it for only two weeks this time around.
  3. Between each round, I will do Insanity Core Cardio and Balance for the week to recover.

Goals for the week

1. I want to get back into the swing of things with weight lifting. I was so focused on lifting big the first time around with P90X, that I paid less attention to my form then I should have. I need to do better with my form, even if it means lifting lower weights.

2. I should do okay with my eating, but I do need to be careful this weekend. It is Easter weekend, and we are headed to my in-laws for the weekend starting Thursday. It’s great for us to relax, but sometimes I relax my discipline when I eat when I go there.

3. Just pay attention to the way my body reacts to the reintroduction of weight lifting. Adding weight to my body isn’t a bad thing so long as it is muscle. That being said, I also have to pay close attention to the way I eat because if I eat poorly all week and my weight goes up, then it probably isn’t muscle/

Have a great day ladies and gentlemen, and may all of your fitness dreams come true!

Justin

Leave a Reply

