The Grass is Always Greener on the Other Side of the Plate

Posted: March 20, 2013 by Justin M. Strawn in Encouragement
Tags: , , , ,
Broccoli is a food that strikes fear into the heart of many children.

Broccoli is a food that strikes fear into the heart of many children.

Exercise is awesome. It makes you feel great, you get a huge boost in self-confidence, and you take a major step toward gaining a healthy lifestyle. The problem is if you don’t eat appropriately, it doesn’t matter how much you exercise. You’re just going to be spinning your wheels. This is a challenge for a lot of people who don’t like healthy foods. Is there hope for them? Absolutely, but it is going to take some serious determination.

Slow And Steady

I could have filed this under confessions, but I chose to go with encouragement. The reason it could have been a confession is because I spent about the first twenty years of my life being one of the poorest eaters possible. I wouldn’t eat anything that was remotely healthy. I lived on a mostly fast food diet. I have chronicled how I got up to around 260 pounds on my blog, but that wasn’t always the case. I didn’t eat that much in high school, and I stayed pretty active during that time, so my weight was never really an issue. The weight problems started when I got to college. I wasn’t nearly as active as I had been, and I had a lot more down time on my hands. It didn’t take long for weight to start heading northward.

So what made me change? The biggest thing was embarrassment. When I was in college, I spent two and a half years as a part-time youth minister. The members of the church would often invite me over to their homes after services were over. It became apparent that they all thought I should eat like an adult. I knew at that point I had to change and it wouldn’t be easy.

I didn’t all of a sudden start eating a vegetarian diet. I would try to add in something I didn’t usually eat one at a time. There were times when I thought I wouldn’t be able to expand my diet, but the more I tried a lot of things, the better they began to taste. I also made a decision to try things that I once thought I didn’t like.

Now, I eat a lot more than I did 15 years ago. That’s not to say that I like everything I once didn’t. I still am not fond of tomatoes, and there aren’t many fruits that I enjoy. The point is, if I had tried to incorporate a bunch of new foods into my diet all at once, I probably still would have the appetite of a 4-year-old.

Improve Stuff You Already Like

My newest food craze, the omelet.

My newest food craze, the omelet.

There is typically a way that you can make almost any food you currently eat healthy or at least healthier. My current food craze is the Omelet. The great thing about it is you can make it pretty healthy. You can also put just about anything in an omelet. If you want it to be healthy, put healthy stuff in it. If you want to indulge, you can do that as well. Burgers can be made with ground turkey. Steaks can be eaten in smaller portions. There are lots of things you can do to make what you currently eat healthier.

My preconceived notions about Greek Yogurt were way off base.

My preconceived notions about Greek Yogurt were way off base.

Be Adventurous

There are always foods that you are scared to eat because you have either heard horrible things about them, or you just think they look terrible. At some point, it would be a good idea to try them and make up your own mind about it. I did this with Greek Yogurt. I had a little a help with a stomach bug to push me in that direction, but I got there. It’s actually really good.

I hope this helps if you are a picky eater. Have a great day ladies and gentlemen and may all of your fitness dreams come true.

Comments
  1. Melanie says:

    I love this post and I can definitely relate! I fall off the wagon all the time, but I always feel my best when I’m eating a healthy, sensible diet. 😉

Leave a Reply

